top of page
new front cover.JPG

Maggie, Bill, Sarah and Barry first read together at a Roundabout Nights event which took place at a Colony exhibition at The Halpern Gallery in October 2018.  This reading was a huge success and the four poets agreed to read together again.


On April 29th 2023, as part of the Rainham Poetry Festival, Maggie, Bill, Sarah and Barry reunited for a reading at St Margret's Church, Rainham. 


To commemorate this event a book containing a sample of poetry from each of these four outstanding poets was published.  This limited, first edition, was only available at the event and has now sold out but Beckit Books in collaboration with The Choir Press present a new edition which is available from all online bookstores.  ISBN: 978-1-78963-444-0 


Sparrowhawk explores the themes that are characteristic of his poetry: nature, identity, love, loss, mythology and his love of cinema. Lewis observes the world around him, meditates in silence and translates his emotions into words and imagery. With his poetry - as with his painting - Lewis attempts to discover identity and to express his sensitivity through hidden messages, leaving us wondering which mysterious clues could open things up. In fact, Lewis writes in his poem The Poets: "They bathe in mysteries while others only seek to explain them." If Lewis' poems are mysterious and intriguing, they are also rich and magical. A joy to explore.

Nathalie Banaigs

Published by Colony Press 10 November 2022

Available to purchase from all online bookstores

ISBN: 978-1-9996948-1-4

Front cover.JPG

Colony Press proudly present the first volume of Bill Lewis' Collected Poems 1975-2005.  

This Love Like A Rage Without Anger contains poems from the first three decades of published work, much of it inspired by overheard conversations, snippets of Kentish working class language, love, nature, Shamanism, Green issues, politics, folklore, Jewish, Christian and pagan myth, magic and his travels in the USA, Latin America and Europe.

Published 30 November 2019 and available to purchase from online bookstores. 

This 254 page paperback book includes 8 images by the author.

ISBN: 978-1-9996948-0-7 

Read the review from Litter Magazine


Bill features in the Award Winning anthology 'The Green Man - Tales from the Mythic Forest' which has now been published as an ebook and also includes work by Neil Gaiman and Charles de Lint

Long Ago.jpg

Available from online bookstores, this 140 page book contains almost all of the poems written since the publication of "In the House of Ladders".  It has three major sequences including Mare Nostrum, a nine part poem sequence that uses the Mediterranean as a metaphor for the collective unconscious. There are stand-alone poems that cover subjects close to the poet's heart such as the spirit of place, childhood, love, death, travel, spirituality, nature and shamanism with a dash of humour and magic.

The collection is edited by Emma Dewhurst, published by Greenheart Press with an introduction by Award-winning playwright Sarah Hehir.  There are also black and white prints by Bill Lewis as headings for each section of the book.  Click here to read the review in Litter Magazine

ISBN: 978-0-9571829-2-9


This collection of poems, published in 2012, contains 53 poems. Published by Greenheart Press, an imprint of WOW Kent magazine.

In addition to this there are 6 handsome black and white prints by the author.

​Read the Review in Stride magazine by Steve Spence

ISBN 978-0-9571829-05

Available from online bookstores

bottom of page